Using social media in school

I have set up a Facebook page for my year 9 class. I have been thinking of doing this for some time, and reading several recent articles online such as those listed below has inspired me to go for it.

I sent invitations to all 19 students in my class group. Three signed up almost immediately, and have already begun chatting with each other (and with me) there. Obviously the group is a closed group, accessible only to members who I admit.

The students I teach are all isolated, for a variety of reasons. Most of our teaching is by internet and phone, with occasional use of snail-mail when absoloutely neccesary. My class group has never been physically in the one place together, and it is unlikely that they ever will be. I am always on the lookout for ways to engage my students with education, and to build community amongst them.

Suggestions about possible activities, do’s and don’ts and sharing of other experiences of similar experiements would be most welcome.

Relevant articles:
Teachers embracing social media in the classroom

The growth of social media

Let’s start early for social networking

This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Using social media in school

  1. You will want to “hook up” with Benjamin Stewart as WizIQ. The area you speak of are his “balywick” (sp?)

Leave a Reply

